Just another WordPress.com site

And so it begins!!!

How many times have  I said that I wish I were 18 again? And now I have an 18 year old who wishes she wasn’t.

I get it. Being 18 is scary to say the least. But, 18 is also the greatest time of your life. You have the whole world out there ahead of you. It’s a time of old things coming to an end and new and wonderful things beginning.

I told myself that I would not allow my children to be slapped in the face with reality. Problem being that reality has changed a bunch since I was 18.  But, I believe I have the basics covered.

#1- She has a job               #2- She has a Car                     #3- She has a phone                      #4- She pays for #2 & #3 with #1

Hard part is now she has to figure out what she wants to do with the rest of her life. And those things that magically got done for her will now have to be done by her.  No more finding the clothes that once occupied the hamper now folded neatly in the drawer. And when the wallet all of a sudden had money in it when you knew it was empty the last time you looked in it.

Having to make decisions on your own and knowing that you have to live with those decisions is hard enough. But, knowing that mom and dad aren’t going to fix the bad decisions you make is really  hard.  It should be a fun time of knowing that you don’t have your parents telling you what you should and should not do. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad my daughter stills wants and respects my opinion.

And so it begins!!! The simple steps from childhood to adulthood,(ok, maybe not so simple), the coming of an age as they say. But, I still would give anything 2B18again!!!!!!!

Till next time, repeat after me, “You are only as old as your body allows you to be.” ( I learned a long time ago your mind has nothing to do with it.

AUNTIBEE

Comments on: "And so it begins!!!" (1)

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

